Modern Witches. A Study in Photos.

What makes a witch

Welcome to the very first instalment “Modern Witches”. Each month we’ll be visiting with a different witch to experience the vast array of beliefs, practices, and people who call themselves “witch”.

We think it’s crucial to be out of the broom closets and sharing ourselves with the world at large; if only to demystify/un-demonize who we are collectively.

This month we met with Erlinda, a beautiful & warm soul. Nurturing practically seeped out of her pores. But enough with this rambling, let’s see what she has to say about being a witch.

erlinda 3 shot

Bubble & Brew: What does the word “witch” mean to you?

Erlinda: “A healer. A women who gets shit done. Takes care of herself, her children and her tribe. She tends to those who are in need. I also seen the most amazing IG image: W.I.T.C.H Woman In Total Control of Herself. At 35 that is ME!”

Erlinda Smiling

Bubble & Brew: When did you openly share your witch status?

Erlinda: “As soon as it hit me witches were not evil and that I was actually one myself. Maybe about 6 months ago.”

eyes

Bubble & Brew: How did you know you were a witch?

Erlinda: “I’ve always been a healer and lover. I knew I would be a wife and mother and I would forever be responsible for tending to the needs of those around me.”

Erlinda and baby

Bubble & Brew: What, in your experience, in the biggest misconception about witches as a whole?

Erlinda: “That we are evil. Society has taught us that strong and smart woman MUST be evil. 10 years ago I would never consider myself a witch nor would I associate myself with a woman who said she was a witch. The concept scared the good Catholic girl in me.”

erlinda cards

Bubble & Brew: What is your center, spiritually speaking?

Erlinda: “God. God is woman, man, life and death
> God lives in my core and when I sage my house or hold my crystals and stones I am praying to God for guidance and healing”

erlindacollage2

Bubble & Brew: Use three words to describe yourself as a person.

Erlinda: Loving transparent chick!

erlinda collage

Thank you so much, Erlinda, for sharing with us this week!

We are so excited about this project, and we hope you are, too. If you’re a witch living in Southern California we’d love to talk with you.

Bright blessings!

MnM signature

2 thoughts on “Modern Witches. A Study in Photos.

Leave a Reply

