Ostara Approaches

Ostara is such an uplifting sabbat. I suppose they all are, of course, but Ostara is all about the beginning of new life linked with the Spring Equinox. It’s a time for blossoming, birthing and beginnings. I just love it. I think this sabbat as a special place for me because it it so perfectly made to share with children (not unlike Yule). Here’s a little Ostara trivia for you: did you know if you take a raw egg outside on the equinox and place it wide end down onto the sidewalk it should stand upright for a few moments? True story! Did you also know that pagans have been celebrating Ostara (or some version of it) from as far back as 200 B.C.? Yep.

Last year was my first year celebrating all the sabbats and esabbats. When Ostara came around I was not exactly surprised by it’s uncanny similarities to Easter, but I found myself dwelling on it a bit. I live in a predominately Christian area (as most are in the U.S.) and when I tried to have conversations with “friendly” Christians about remarkable similarities between the two celebrations, or how Ostara had been celebrated long before Easter, I was not met with smiles and wonder. No, it was decidedly a bitter and doubtful reception. Sad as this was, I was not surprised; and lucky for me I write a blog. So I can talk about whatever I want with you all, right?

Ours is a distinctly beautiful tradition. rich in history & lore. I’m going to abstain from turning this into “a history of ostara” or a rant about how our holidays were hijacked by the church. Nope, not going to do that. Let’s keep it positive shall we? Yes, let’s! We know most, though not all, of our readers are fairly new to their witchy ways, and honestly so are we in the grand scope of things. With that in mind, let’s chat about Ostara traditions that we can fold into our modern witchy lives. I think we can break them down into food, crafts & kid stuff and of course, magic.

tumblr_nm0t2z1qjF1u6zi2yo1_500

Food

Mmmmmmm, food. Being the Kitchen Witch I am, most sabbats are spent largely in the kitchen. Imbuing delicious and nourishing meals for my family with my own love & intention is an everyday magic I practice. On a day like Ostara, however, I like to punch it up a bit. I like to start by washing everything washable in the kitchen (maybe even wiping things down with a cloth soaked in moon water if it’s handy), then burn a large bundle of sage to purify the space, followed by burning Palo Santo as a blessing. Again, if you’re a Kitchen Witch, this is your sacred space & should be treated as such.

Once the space is cleansed & blessed, it’s time to get to work. As one might expect, eggs and carrots are associated with the day; but there’s much more. Seeds and sprouts are wonderful additions to your meals on Ostara, as they represent the burgeoning new life all around us. Butter, cream, etc…are all excellent options, too; as they come from mother’s of newly birthed offspring (why do you think it’s called offspring? Because that’s when life blooms!) I wish I had time right now to go cook up a feast, take beautiful photos, and then edit & post them here for you. Sadly, I do not have that kind of time. So I am going to share with you some wonderful finds instead.

Here's a wonderful recipe for Maple Dijon Roasted Carrots

Here’s a wonderful recipe for Maple Dijon Roasted Carrots

 

A wonderful recipe for these yummy scones can be found here.

A wonderful recipe for these yummy scones can be found here.

 

Personally, I am not a fan of eating lamb, but it's an Ostara staple. If you're interested, here's a lovely and fairly simple recipe.

Personally, I am not a fan of eating lamb, but it’s an Ostara staple. If you’re interested, here’s a lovely and fairly simple recipe.

 

Here's my own recipe for a delicious and simple quick bread.

Here’s my own recipe for a delicious and simple quick bread.

 

Of course there are many, many dishes that are perfect for Ostara’s celebratory vibe. Just cook what feels right to you. However, if you’re stumped for ideas or not usually a cook, just pop over to Pinterest and type in “Ostara recipes” and go nuts!

 

Hocus-Pocus-I-Smell-Children

Crafts & Kid Stuff

This can really be whatever feels like fun for you and your family. You could make Ostara baskets, dye eggs, go feed the wild animals in your area (this is something we do every sabbat and esabbat), garden, make candles, etc… Anything goes, although I would highly recommend working with natural materials as much as possible.

This is a fantastic post on how to dye eggs with natural ingredients. So fun!

This is a fantastic post on how to dye eggs with natural ingredients. So fun!

 

Why not start some windowsill gardening? This is pretty simple & straightforward.

Why not start some windowsill gardening? This is pretty simple & straightforward.

 

Seed bombs are always amazing. But making beautiful seed bombs to give as Ostara gifts is amazing! Go here to learn how.

Seed bombs are always amazing. But making beautiful seed bombs to give as Ostara gifts is amazing! Go here to learn how.

 

Why not make your kids their very own custom Ostara coloring book? Just search out images on internet, print, and bind. Voilร ! Instant joy!

Why not make your kids their very own custom Ostara coloring book? Just search out images on internet, print, and bind. Voilร ! Instant joy!

 

INHRwrW

Magic

Here’s the good stuff. The special stuff. The stuff that you came here for. Magic. As with all magic, in my opinion, it is more important here to be authentic and intentional that it is to be fancy & pretty. That said, I’m going to use some pretty pictures to illustrate some ideas for you.

Speaking of intention, this is such a wonderful way to go about it. Just write your aspirations, hopes, goals, etc...on an egg, bury it on Ostara, & plant on top of it. As the plant fourishes, so should your dreams. (sidenote: I do not know where this original image is from, sorry)

Speaking of intention, this is such a wonderful way to go about it. Just write your aspirations, hopes, goals, etc…on an egg, bury it on Ostara, & plant on top of it. As the plant fourishes, so should your dreams. (sidenote: I do not know where this original image is from, sorry)

 

Even if you (like me) do not typically have a formal altar, this is a great day to pour some creative energy in & stir up some magic. This is just one example of something you might enjoy creating.

Even if you (like me) do not typically have a formal altar, this is a great day to pour some creative energy in & stir up some magic. This is just one example of something you might enjoy creating.

Ostara is perfect day for fertility magic. I found this while searching, but feel free to make up your own too.

Ostara is perfect day for fertility magic. I found this while searching, but feel free to make up your own too.

 

Honor the bunny (a long standing friend of Ostara) by incorporating it into your magic. Here's a great article about the history of the bunny & Ostara and some great ritual ideas, too.

Honor the bunny (a long standing friend of Ostara) by incorporating it into your magic. Here’s a great article about the history of the bunny & Ostara and some great ritual ideas, too.

 

And, as in all magic, dancing is very powerful. Image source here.

And, as in all magic, dancing is very powerful. Image source here.

 

These are just some starter ideas for your Ostara. Remember, always trust your instincts & trust your intuition. If you have a great Ostara tradition please share with us. We love learning from other witches.

 

MnM signature

One thought on “Ostara Approaches

Leave a Reply

